The Ballarat International Foto Biennale proudly presents the GradFoto 2022 exhibition, featuring 22 finalists from 12 universities. This award celebrates the creative excellence of graduating students, open to emerging contemporary artists from Australian institutions whose artistic practice includes photography. Following its inaugural launch in 2020, GradFoto 2022 continues to showcase the graduates’ calibre of photographic work to new audiences across Australia and beyond. GradFoto is an annual award presented each year for graduating artists. For all enquiries, please email


  • JEFF MOORFOOT OAM, Founding director of the Ballarat International Foto Biennale, founder of the “free radicals” magazine, Editor at “BETA developments in Photography”.
  • VANESSA GERRANS, CEO, Ballarat International Foto Biennale
  • PETE VOLICH, Creative Producer, Ballarat International Foto Biennale

The judges were excited by this year’s level of diverse practice across numerous photographic disciplines. The judging was incredibly rigorous and sparked great debate. Ballarat International Foto Biennale recognises how important it is for photo-media graduates to have opportunities as soon as they graduate so along with selecting an overall winner, four additional artists were awarded as “Highly Commended” and have the opportunity of being included in the festival in 2023.

We extend sincere appreciation to Jeff Moorfoot OAM, founding director of the Ballarat International Foto Biennale for his valuable contribution to the judging process for the GradFoto 2022 award. Thank you to Canberra School of Art; Charles Darwin University; Charles Sturt University; Curtin University, Collarts, Deakin University; Edith Cowan University; Federation University Australia; Griffith University; LCI Melbourne; Melbourne Polytechnic, Monash University; Murdoch University; National Art School; North Metropolitan Tafe, Oxygen College; Photography Studies College; Queensland College of Art, RMIT University; Swinburne University of Technology; TAFE New South Wales; University of New South Wales; University of Tasmania; University of Technology Sydney; University of Wollongong; Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne and; Whitehouse Institute of Design for participating in GradFoto 2022.