About Us

The Ballarat International Foto Biennale was founded in 2005 and attracts significant International and Australian photographers as one of Australia’s pre-eminent photographic festivals.

It is a not-for-profit event that immerses the historic town of Ballarat in photographic art.

The CORE PROGRAM exhibits at the beautiful Art Gallery of Ballarat, The Mining Exchange, the Minerva Room, The Observatory, Post Office Gallery and the Town Hall. The FRINGE PROGRAM is staged at more than 80 cafes, galleries and wine bars across Ballarat, providing the launch pad for hundreds of new and emerging artists.

The Biennale is guided by the principle that it not only serves the community but also plays a vital role in cultivating it. It strives to engage the local community with creative and courageous programming.

In its 11 year history, the Foto biennale has attracted more than 150,000 visitors to Ballarat and was honored at the Ballarat 2016 Australia Day Awards as the Community Activity of the Year.

The vision for this year’s Biennale raises the bar, with more events and chances for audiences to engage with the photographic image in all its forms – from established to amateur.

Our 2017 program, with special events planned for all five weekends, is expected to attract an attendance of over 50,000 people. We encourage you to plan your stay early, stay long enough to stroll Ballarat’s charming streets and engage deeply with the photographic image.

We will present the world on our doorstep – celebrating and creating a shared, exciting perspective of how we see our surrounds, our community and ourselves.

The 2017 Ballarat International Foto Biennale is on from 19 August to 17 September 2017.

Festival and Creative Director: Fiona Sweet

A prominent and highly experienced director, art director and creative, Sweet is renowned for inspiring and intelligent delivery of uniquely crafted festivals and arts events. She is an influential and highly sought after speaker, industry judge, photographic portfolio reviewer and assessor in Australia and internationally. She is the recipient of many prestigious design awards and was the director of Sweet Creative and a former Board Director of the Australian Graphic Design Association and Melbourne Fringe. She co-founded Melbourne’s Acland Street Projection Festival, launched August 2015.

Festival Co-ordinator: Chandini Batra

Chandini has a Masters degree in Arts Management from the University of Melbourne. She has worked with Stylecraker and as assistant fashion stylist to Movie Actor Shahrukh Khan (Mumbai) and most recently with the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM).

Board Directors:
Stephen Jurica (Chair), Jamie Mulcahy (Treasurer), Morgan McLay (Secretary),
Mark Avellino, Amanda Cochran and Brigid Moloney.

Ballarat International Foto Biennale is a not-for-profit organisation with DGR (Deductible Gift Recipient) and TCC (Tax Concession Charity) status.