The Fineman New Photography Award Terms and Conditions

Back to The Fineman New Photography Award

  1. The Fineman New Photography Award is part of the 9th Ballarat International Foto Biennale. Ballarat International Foto Biennale is also known and referred to as BIFB.
  2. All applicants must be of age 18 and over as of the closing date for the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale The Fineman New Photography Award, 24 October 2021.
  3. The award is open to all photographers residing in the Asia Pacific region. Photographers must be citizens, permanent residents or living in their designated country for 12 months or more. See item 28 for a full list of eligible countries.
  4. Represented artists are eligible.
  5. Employees and relatives of the organisers of the competition and of the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale entities are not eligible to enter.
  6. Entries must:
    • be a series of photographic works that have been substantially produced by photographic means, including analogue and digital photography, collage and mixed media
    • be an individual residing in any of the below listed Asia Pacific country
    • be a series of photographs comprising of no less than 4 images and up to 20 responding to the 2021 premise of Past. Tense. Now.
    • be a finished project and have been executed and/or resolved within the year leading up to the deadline for submissions. That is after 1 January 2020 and;
    • not have been previously exhibited in Australia, either whole or in part.
  7. The photographer warrants that the work submitted is original and does not infringe the copyright, moral rights or other rights of any third party and that he or she owns all rights and interests in the work submitted. The photographer will indemnify and keep indemnified the Ballarat International Foto Biennale against any claim by a third party in relation to the work. If an entrant’s work is selected for exhibition, the organisers may require them to provide written evidence of their subject/s consent.
  8. The work must not be used in promotional material for any other event or exhibition until the conclusion of the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale.
  9. Copyright ownership in all of the photographs entered and/or exhibited will remain with the photographer.
  10. One winning artist to receive a non-acquisitive cash prize of AUD $10,000 (inc. GST if applicable).
  11. The Ballarat International Foto Biennale will edit artist statements for consistency before publication.
  12. Entries must be submitted via ballaratfoto.org as jpeg files of 20cm (longest side) @ 300dpi, accompanied by a completed entry, including an artist biography, series rationale, and CV. Finalists selected for The Fineman New Photography Award will be required to provide Ballarat International Foto Biennale with subject consent forms if relevant.
  13. Entries comprise a non-refundable application fee of AUD $20 (10% discount for ‘Friends’) per entry.
  14. Any photographs that are watermarked will not be accepted.
  15. The judges will select the 6 finalists from online digital images supplied. The overall winner and peoples choice award will be judged from the exhibited work.
  16. The Ballarat International Foto Biennale and the judges have absolute discretion in determining the eligibility of an entry based on their interpretation of the Terms and Conditions of entry. The judges’ decision will be final and not subject to discussion or appeal and no correspondence will be entered into.
  17. Photographers whose work/s have been chosen as finalists will be notified by email or telephone of their success by 1 June 2021. Unsuccessful entrants will not be personally notified. All entries selected as finalists will be displayed on ballaratfoto.org and may also be displayed on other social media at the discretion of the Ballarat International Foto Biennale.
  18. Up to 6 finalists will be selected for the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale The Fineman New Photography Award. The Exhibitions form part of core artistic program for the the Ballarat International Foto Biennale in Ballarat, Victoria, from Saturday 28 August to Sunday 24 October 2021.
  19. The winner of the non-acquisitive first prize will receive AUD $10,000 (inc. GST if applicable). The winner of the Peoples’ Choice Award will receive AUD $1,000 (inc. GST if applicable).
  20. All finalists must sign and return a confirmation of entry form that will be emailed to them when they are notified. If the artwork is for sale, additional information will also be requested.
  21. BIFB will organise the printing and all presentation of artworks for the exhibition.
  22. All works will be destroyed after the closing of the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale. Proof of destruction will be provided to Artists.
  23. Each finalist grants to the Ballarat International Foto Biennale, touring partners and sponsors a non-exclusive, perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide and royalty-free licence to use his or her photographs, likeness and name accompanied with attribution to the artist, for advertising and promotion of the award and or for the Ballarat International Foto Biennale in any form of media now known or yet to be devised, both from the date the finalists are announced and in future years. Entrants acknowledge and agree that the Ballarat International Foto Biennale is not liable to pay the finalists any fee, royalty or other form of remuneration for this right.
  1. All entrants agree to receive information and updates about the Ballarat International Foto Biennale through their nominated email address.
  2. Countries within Asia-Pacific:
  • American Samoa
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Niue
  • North Korea
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Republic of China, Taiwan
  • Russian Federation
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Turkey
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam