GradFoto 2022

The Ballarat International Foto BIennale’s GradFoto 2022 award is now closed. Finalists and the overall winner will be announced 8 December 2022.

The Ballarat International Foto Biennale is thrilled to present GradFoto 2022. This award celebrates the artistic excellence of graduating students, open to emerging contemporary artists from selected institutions whose artistic practice includes photography. Following its inaugural launch in 2020, GradFoto 2022 continues to showcase the high calibre of photographic work by up and coming graduates to new audiences across Australia and beyond, creating connections for them as they begin their artistic careers.

Up to 20 finalists will be selected and have their work exhibited online in the GradFoto 2022 Exhibition. Judges will award one cash prize of AUD $1000 to the overall winner. Another finalist will be awarded one cash prize of AUD $500 for the People’s Choice Award, as voted by the public throughout the GradFoto 2022 Exhibition.

GradFoto 2020 Winner
Shuran Yang, Hedgehog Family 1, 2020
Graduate from RMIT University

View the GradFoto 2020 Exhibition online gallery.

GradFoto 2021 Winner
Meg De Young, The Conversations We Have, 2021
Graduate from RMIT University

View the GradFoto 2021 Exhibition online gallery.

All graduating students from the following institutions in 2022 are eligible to apply:

  1. Canberra School of Art
  2. Charles Darwin University
  3. Charles Sturt University
  4. Curtin University
  5. Deakin University
  6. Edith Cowan University
  7. Federation University Australia
  8. Griffith University
  9. LCI Melbourne
  10. Monash University
  11. Murdoch University
  12. National Art School
  13. North Metropolitan TAFE
  14. Oxygen College
  15. Photography Studies College
  16. RMIT University
  17. Swinburne University of Technology
  18. TAFE New South Wales
  19. University of New South Wales
  20. University of Tasmania
  21. University of Technology Sydney
  22. University Western Australia
  23. University of Wollongong
  24. Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne
  25. Whitehouse Institute of Design

Key Dates

Applications Closed: 28 November 2022, 11.59PM AEDT
Finalists Contacted: 6 December 2022
Online Exhibition and Winner Announced: 8 December 2022